Chemical Warfare is not working….

Bugs. Knats, Midges, Noseeums. Whatever they are called, they are my mortal enemy and they are winning. the last couple days on site for me at least have been dominated by being eaten alive by little tiny flying insects that think deet is almost as yummy as my skin. The feeling sorry to myself came to a head yesterday when I absolutely lost it and at lunch time went for a long walk to the river, because I was so upset and such bad company. Needless to say, I didn’t care that much about my work yesterday, all I cared about was not getting eaten. I wasn’t the only one, but I perhaps got the worst of it and the most horrific reactions. to finally fend them off, many of us adopted the hijab, and tied whatever we could around our heads so that only our eyes were visible. That seemed to stop them, or at least significantly slow them down.
Anyway, now that my rant is over, the last three days were really productive site wise. Today, we finally finished units 4, 5 and 6 to the floor and mapped and drew them before closing up today. Kaet, Sev, Michelle and I stayed late on site to try and find the western wall. We uncovered most of it, and will finish tomorrow. Yesterday was just a haze of bugs, so honestly, I don’t remember much of what we did, except that I did a lot of sifting and didn’t find much. On Monday, I worked on the extension to unit one, that uncovered the southern wall and the rest of the ‘hearth’. It’s not a hearth anymore, but a ventalator, because we uncovered the real hearth in the center of the pithouse that was excavated today. The scary things about excavating the ventalator, was that I had to stick my head into the rusty barrel to clear it out. I’m am so thankful that nothing creepy and crawly was living in there. Though we have found two small tarantulas in the pithouse and relocated them to the surrounding forest. They were both creepy and beautiful. The only cool thing that came out of the ventilator, was when I took off the cover and right behind it was a dark blue star-shaped candle. It was really cool. I will talk more about my vision quest tomorrow, when I am less tired and have more time to put my experience into words. Peace.

One thought on “Chemical Warfare is not working….

  1. dianne,

    i just wanted to let you know you were right when you said things would start to make sense over the summer. reorientation in progress, and if feels so good. next year is gonna rock…..

Leave a Reply

